The Newton Medal – Past Recipients

About every two years the Colour Group awards its Newton Medal to a distinguished worker in the field of colour science, on the occasion of his or her delivery of The Newton Lecture.

1963 Prof W D Wright The rays are not coloured
1965 Dr W A H Rushton FRS The chemical basis of colour vision and colour blindness
1967 Dr W S Stiles OBE FRS Mechanism concepts in colour theory
1970 G J Chamberlain What use is colorimetry?
1972 Dr D B Judd Colour in visual signalling
1975 Dr R W G Hunt Sky-blue pink
1977 Dr C J Bartleson Full circle: The study of chromatic adaptation
1979 Dr S T Henderson The colour of daylight
1981 Prof R A Weale Game-set-match
1983 Dr B H Crawford Colour in signals
1985 D L MacAdam Uniform colour scales (delivered in 1984)
1987 Miss M B Halstead Lighting and colour rendition: quantity versus quality
1989 W N Sproson Colour television
1991 J G Holmes Suiting colour to the name
1993 Prof S M Zeki FRS Colour vision as a guide to brain organisation
1995 Dr R McDonald The effect of colour physics on the textile industry
1997 Don Pavey Aesthetics of colour and orientation
1999 Professor John D Mollon, FRS The colour-sense: its origin and development
2001 John B Hutchings Driving forces for colour usage in food, biological nature and human behaviour
2003 James H Nobbs Relating the Composition of Materials to their Colour
2006 Prof Richard Langton Gregory, CBE, D.Sc., FRSE, FRS Colours through a Bayes Window
2008 Prof Roy S Berns The Use of Color Science in Art Conservation
2010 Prof Janos Schanda Do LEDs need a new colorimetry?
2012 Prof Françoise Vienot The Novelty of Metameric LED White Lights
2014 Prof Michael R Pointer Progress Towards the Measurement of Appearance – Tortoise or Hare?
2016 Prof Andrew Stockman Distorted Insights from Perceptual Anomalies to Colour Mechanisms
2018 Prof David Foster The Randomness of Colours
2020 Prof M Ronnier Luo Holy Grail of Colour Science – Version II
2022 Prof Anya Hurlbert From Light and Matter to the Concept of Colour