Honour Awards

The colour group awards three Honour Awards;The Newton Medal, The Turner Medal and The Palmer Lecture.

Lists of past recipients can be found by clicking on the images below.

The Newton Medal and Turner Medal are awarded in alternate years, whilst the Palmer Lecture is yearly.

For a note on the history of the medals see here.

The Newton Medal

The Newton Medal

The Colour Group awards its Newton Medal to a distinguished worker in the field of colour science, on the occasion of his or her delivery of the Newton Lecture.

The Turner Medal

The Colour Group awards its Turner Medal is awarded to a distinguished artist or art historian who gives the Turner Lecture to honour Britain’s greatest colourist.

The Palmer Lecture

The Colour Group invites a distinguished vision expert to deliver the annual Palmer Lecture in January at its vision meeting.