The Turner Medal – Past Recipients

About every two years the Colour Group invites a distinguished artist or art historian, to give The Turner Lecture, honouring Britain’s greatest colourist. A sterling silver medal is awarded to mark the occasion, and the recipient presents a keynote lecture related to his or her work.

Past Turner Lecturers

1998Peter Sedgley
2000Albert Irvin1922 – 2015
2001Martin Kemp
2003Roy OsborneTelesio’s Colour Dictionary of 1528
2007Zandra RhodesThe Only Thing Constant Is Change – A Life in Colour
2009John GageEmulous of light: Turner’s colour revisited
2011Bridget RileyColour in Particular with reference to works by the artist and other painters
Unfortunately, illness prevented her from delivering the Turner prize lecture
2013Kaffe FassettGlorious Colour
2015Carlos Cruz-DiezReflections on Colour: video link from Panama to City University. A video made by the Cruz-Diez Foundation is here.
2017Michael Craig-MartinColour in Practice
2019Prof. Sarah StreetThe Art of Film Colour
2021Margo Selby(TBA: Lecture / presentation 9th June)